Skip navigation


So many titles to choose from!  I could have gone with:

“All My Livin’,” “And Your Bird Can Die,” “Baby, You’re a Dead Man,” “Being for the Funeral of Mr. Martin,” “Can’t Buy Me Life,” “Boy, You’re Gonna Carry that Coffin,” “Die, Baby, Die, Make Your Mamma Cry” “A Day in the Death,” “Dead Tripper,” “All You Need is Death,” “All the Dead People, Where do They All Belong?” “The End,” “Everybody’s Got Something to Die Except Me and My Monkey,” “I’m Digging a Hole,” “George is Dead,” “The Grave on the Hill,” “I Have to Admit, It’s Not Getting Better,” “Look Into a Glass Coffin,” “Final Slumbers Fill Your Eyes,”  “Bad Day, Dead Guy,” “Good Night,” “Got to Get You Outta My Life,”  “Happiness is a Warm Corpse,” “A Hard Day’s Death,” “I Don’t Know Why You Say Good Bye I Say- …Oh,” “When I Am Older, So Much Older than Today,” “There Goes the Sun,” “Take a Dead Man and Make him Deadder,” “Honey Die,” “Wild Honey Die,” “I am the Dead man, I am the Dead Man, I am the Walrus,” “I Saw Him Dying There,” “I Wanna Hold Your Cold Dead Hand,” “If I Fell and Died With You,” “I’ll Follow the Light,” “He’s a Loser, and He’s Not What He Used to Be,” “He’s Down.  He’s Really Down.” “I’m Happy Just to Die With You,” “The Only Difference is You Have Died, I’m Looking Through You and You’re Still Dead,” “I’m Only Sleeping… No… really…” “In My Death,” “It Was All Too Much,” “It’s Only Life, That’s All,” “I Got No Feeling, No Feeling Deep Inside,” “I’ve Just Seen a Corpse,” “Mother Mary Came to Him,” “The Long and Winding Funeral Procession,” “Love, Love Me Dead,” “Martin in the Ground With Diamonds,” “Maxwell’s Silver Hammer Came Down on His Head,” “Mean Mr. Martin Sleeps in a Box,” “Misery,” “Money, (That’s What His Kids Want),” “No Reply,” “This Bird Has Flown,” “Nowhere Man,” “Ob-La-Di, Ob-La-Da, Life Doesn’t Go On (Bra!),” “It’s Only a Northern Dirge,” “Please, Mr. Deadman,” “Kill Killlll Me, Oh yeah,”  “He’s Dead Now, Yeah, Yeah, Yeah,” “It’s Sgt. Pepper’s Stopped Hearts Club Band,” “He’s Leaving Home,” “Something in the Way He Doesn’t Move,” “Potter’s Field Forever,” “Declare the Penneys On His Eyes” “Tell Me Why-i-i-i-i-You Died,” “That Boy, Took His Life Away,” “Ticket to Ride Across the River Styx,” “My Guitar Gently Weeps,” “He Died With a Little Help From His Age,” “He Don’t Live in a Yellow Submarine,” “Why He Had to Go, I Don’t Know, He Wouldn’t Say,” “You Won’t See Me,” “Yes, Yes You’re Going to Lose That Life,” “You’ve Got to Hide Your Corpse Away,” “He Blew His Mind Out in a Car,” “If I Stopped My Heart For You, Would You Promise to Be True?”

…you know… to name a few.

Call Doctor Robert because the continuing story of bungalow George comes to an end

George Martin

Man, now we’ll never k now how Game of Thrones ends!

Beatles producer, George Martin took that magical mystery tour to the great beyond at the spry age of 90!

When he got to the bottom he went back to the top of the slide where he stopped and he turned and then died.  He didn’t get to the bottom and we won’t see him again.  Yeah, yeah yeah.

In 1962, after Decca rejected the Beatles, a man at Parlophone records who was known more for classical music and comedy albums, George Martin, decided to sign the Beatles.

This is a seriously baller move.  You make a few Peter Sellers records and then decide to hire a rejected rock-n-roll act?  That’s putting your shit on the line.

It paid off though (according to some).  Martin worked with the Beatles, loving John, George, Ringo… enduring Paul, for the next six years to record twelve albums.  All of which are must-own classics.

Martin was truly the Fifth Beatle.  If anyone tries to give you that Billy Preston bullshit, you just send them to me.  

His classical background gave the music the finesse it needed to bring out the brilliance.

When arranging “Eleanor Rigby,” Martin thought that something like the theme from the movie “Psycho,” would work.  So, he arranged strings to play short, cutting notes under the song making it an unforgettable classic.

And now you will never hear that song the same way again.  (Assuming you’re still reading… damn, this is long.)

When the Fab Four wanted to do out of the box, Martin not only embraced it, he encouraged it.  He showed them what it sounds like if you record something backwards.  The next day, the band showed up with all of these recordings that they thought sounded hilarious and wanted them on the album.

Hence, “Turn me on, dead man,” entered our lexicon…. erroneously.  (Damn, another title that I could have used!)

When John wanted the super-long final chord for “A Day in the Life,” Martin put microphones inside three pianos and a harmonium that all played an E-major chord simultaneously. It  rang out for over forty seconds.  They upped the sound level so that towards the end you can hear the sounds of the studio, including rustling papers, the air conditioner and a squeaking chair.

Take that Preston, with your Fender-Rhodes-electric-piano-playing!

On his deathbed, Martin was told that he met his match.  Martin insisted that it was only a scratch.  He list words were “I’ll be better, I’ll be better, Doc, as soon as I am a-”

It’s been a busy time for the Ghoul Pool, it’s like there’s eight deaths a week.  

Of course, this hit goes to me!  What you thought I’d let Babysitter take George Martin!  Pshaw!

This puts me in a tie for the lead with Jami and Pirate!  AND I hit triple digits!

George Martin is my THIRD holdover to die this year!  It’s been a pretty good year for the ol’ Ghoul Pool Administrator!

And in the end, the points you take is equal to the points you make.

Happy pooling,

SPMI

Current Standings:

Lee Kwang-Soo (Giraffe): 100 – (Daniel Fleetwood – 70, Abe Vigoda – 10, Nancy Fucking Reagan! – 10!, George Martin – 10)

Jami: 100 – (Scott Weiland  – 60, Pat Harrington, Jr. – 20, Umberto Eco – 20)

Occupy the Casket: 100 – (Natalie Cole – 40, Vanity – 50, Boutros Boutros-Ghali – 10)

Joanne: 60 (Joey Feek – 60)

The Girl on Fire: 60 (Wayne Rogers – 20, René Angélil – 30, George Gaynes – 10)

Mortician’s Daughter: 50 – (Justice Antonin Scalia – 30, Bud Collins)

Tailgating w/ Jesus: 50 (Dolph Schayes – 20, Meadowlark Lemon – 20, Monte Irvin – 10)

Harmony: 30 (Harper Lee – 20, George Kennedy – 10)

Age of Aquarius: 30 (William Guest – 30)

Mostly Mike: 20 (Marvin Minsky – 20)

Gianna: 20 (Robert Stigwood – 20)

Leave a Reply

