Skip navigation


OK, something terrible has happened.  I, your fearless Ghoul Pool Administrator let a Douche-bag pick go unnoticed.  I could see why the draftee would see this as a legitimate pick, but I wouldn’t have allowed it.

But I did allow it.

As a quick explanation: this pick was submitted on a spreadsheet and it was clearly stated who the pick was.  I missed it.  I allowed it out of my own error and I cannot let someone lose points because of my error.  Again, I can see why people would see this pick as fair game.  Douche-bag picks are strictly a judgement call.  

The hit was Addie Fausett whose parents started a Facebook campaign to get as many people to write her a Christmas card as they could.  She was 7 with a rare disease.  

Now, this popped up in the news and could be compared to the Star Wars guy that I also got a hit with.  So, I can see how one would think that it passes the douche-bag test.

This hit does give us a new leader.   To be fair, Pirate told me to not give her points for this hit.  Rather, I insisted upon it because the mix-up was on my end.

I will alter the spreadsheet this year so that the explanations attached to the absentee lists will automatically appear next to the names.  This way we will know who the obscure names are without having to run a macro.

SPMI

Current Standings:

Occupy the Casket: 120 – (Natalie Cole – 40, Vanity – 50, Boutros Boutros-Ghali – 10, Geoffrey Eglinton – 20, Addie Fausett – 100)

Jami: 210 – (Scott Weiland  – 60, Pat Harrington, Jr. – 20, Umberto Eco – 20, Rob Ford – 60, Erik Bauersfeld – 10, Edward Albee – 20, Chris Sizemore – 20)

Tailgating w/ Jesus: 140 (Dolph Schayes – 20, Meadowlark Lemon – 20, Monte Irvin – 10, Muhammad Ali – 30, Pat Summitt – 40, Buddy Ryan – 20)

Joanne: 130 (Joey Feek – 60, Joe Garagiola – 10, Julius La Rosa – 20, Buckwheat Zydeco – 40)

Lee Kwang-Soo (Giraffe): 130- (Daniel Fleetwood – 70, Abe Vigoda – 10, Nancy Fucking Reagan! – 10!, George Martin – 10, Elie Wiesel – 20, Mike “Mighty Atom, Jr.” Greenstein – 10)

Occupy the Casket: 120 – (Natalie Cole – 40, Vanity – 50, Boutros Boutros-Ghali – 10, Geoffrey Eglinton – 20)

The Girl on Fire: 120 (Wayne Rogers – 20, René Angélil – 30, George Gaynes – 10, James Noble – 10, Doris Roberts – 10, Marni Nixon – 20, Fyvush Finkel – 10, Steven Hill – 10)

Gianna: 110 (Robert Stigwood – 20, Lois Duncan – 20, Herschell Gordon Lewis – 20, Pete Burns – 50)

Harmony: 100 (Harper Lee – 20, George Kennedy – 10, Frank Sinatra, Jr. – 30, Gene Wilder – 20, Arnold Palmer – 20)

Team Sushi: 80 (Chyna, aka Joanie Laurer – 60, Morley Safer – 20)

Imaginary Steve: 60 – (King Bhumibol Adulyadej – 20, 谢家麟 – 10, 劉令名 – 30)

Mostly Mike: 60 (Marvin Minsky – 20, Mihaly “Michu” Meszaros – 30, Janet Waldo – 10)

Age of Aquarius: 60 (William Guest – 30, Merle Haggard – 30)

Nathaniel: 50 (Alan Young – 10, Kenny Baker – 20, Glenn Yarbrough – 20)

Mortician’s Daughter: 50 – (Justice Antonin Scalia – 30, Bud Collins – 20)

Leave a comment